Nina Riggs, author of The Bright Hour and Lucky Lucky, wrote
beautiful work on many subjects, including relationships and
domestic life. She knew how to savor every moment of her too-short
life, and in her poetry and her memoir, she explores the poignancy
and love that resonate in the details of every day. With this award,
Cave Wall seeks to honor poets like Nina, whose writing illuminates
just how extraordinary the ordinary can be.

Each year, Cave Wall will award at least one poet for the finest
writing that examines relationships, family, or domestic life.
will be looking for poems published in journals and books during
the previous three years. Each winner will receive at least $500
and, if funding permits, will be invited to give a reading in
Greensboro, NC, Nina Riggs’s hometown.

In order to do this, however, we need your help.
This award will be
crowd-funded. The amount of the prize and its longevity will
depend on the donations the award fund receives. Our goal is to
raise at least $5,000, which will allow us to give a poet $1000 in
prize money, plus travel expenses, each year for 3-4 years before
needing to fundraise again.
We would love to see the fund exceed
that amount, growing to last decades and honor multiple poets each
year. Please help us by giving a donation. Although Cave Wall Press
is not a non-profit entity and your donations are not tax deductible,
every dollar goes directly into the award fund to celebrate poems
that keep us aware of the mysterious beauty in our lives. Help us
honor poetry that cultivates a greater sense of how we are all
connected; poetry that discovers opportunities for gratitude in the
way we move against and with each other through our days. Join us
in honoring the legacy of Nina Riggs.

There is no application process for this award. The winners will be
chosen each year by a panel that includes the editors of
Cave Wall,
along with Nina’s widower, John Duberstein.
We welcome
nominations year-round by postal mail.
Please mail us copies of
poems you come across that honor family or relationships in some
way, poems published within the last three years. Be sure to let us
know the name of the poet and the publication where they first
Donations may be made online here or by mailing a check to the
address below. Please make out your check to
Cave Wall Press, LLC
and let us know it is for the
Nina Riggs Poetry Award. Thank you for
your gift of any amount! The following gifts will receive:
 $25.00 (2 back issues OR a 1-year subs./renewal for first 10 donations)
   $50.00 (a book/chapbook/CD by a Cave Wall poet for first 15 donations)
   $100.00 (signed broadside by Jennifer Grotz for first 10 donations)
   $250.00 or more (all three above gifts for first 5 donations)

Anyone who donates $50.00 or more will be acknowledged on our
website and in an issue of
Cave Wall, with special acknowledgment
for anyone donating $500 or more. Although we are not a nonprofit
and your donation is not tax deductible, your entire gift goes to the
award fund. Thank you for your support.

Cave Wall Press, LLC
P.O. Box 29546
Greensboro, NC 27429-9546
Click here if you would prefer to donate online (link coming soon)
Click here if you would like a printable donation form.